

http://www.roseworthy.adelaide.edu.au/roca/ PO Box 503 KENT TOWN SA 5071

ANNUAL REPORT

12 October 2007

It is my privilege to present the 2007 Annual Report on behalf of the ROCA Committee.

The other members of the ROCA Committee need to be acknowledged for their individual and collective contributions. Dale Manson, Mark Seeliger, Darren Koopman, David Cooper, Harry Stephen, Wilf Bowen, Ray Taylor, Peter Lewis, Leith Yelland and Prof Phil Hynd have made the last 12 months manageable for me. ROCA members and the University of Adelaide are lucky to have people like Mark and Wilf, in particular, so prepared to volunteer so much of their valuable time to the Roseworthy cause.

We met six times as a ROCA Committee, twice at the Roseworthy Campus, which provided an opportunity for the Committee to share an evening meal with the current students. The meals have improved!

ROCA has contributed to some significant changes in the University of Adelaide Alumni arrangements. A review was commissioned in 2006 and, as an outcome, the University Council dissolved the Alumni Association on 4 December 2006. The ROCA Committee engaged actively in the review and the transition to a new Alumni Relations Program, which is now a core function of the University. The Development and Alumni Office is now in the Division of the Vice-Chancellor and President and an Alumni Relations Strategic Plan is in place. It is pleasing that Wilf Bowen has been appointed to the new Alumni Advisory Committee.

ROCA was also well-represented in the national conference convened by the Australian Institute of Agricultural Science and Technology (AIAST) on 'Tomorrow's Agricultural Scientists – Meeting Industry and Resource Management Needs'. We will continue to work with the University of Adelaide and other interested organisations to improve the availability of suitably qualified graduates.

The Eyre Peninsula Branch of ROCA continues to be a great social success, with 40 people attending its AGM and Dinner at Streaky Bay on 3 March 2007. Next year it will be in Port Lincoln on 9 February.

Dr Bruce Eastick and I were delighted to present the first Trevor Dillon Agronomic Study Scholarship to Brendan Wallis at a luncheon convened by Rural Media South Australia, on 16 August this year. The ROCA Committee is keen to ensure that the ROCA Roseworthy Campus and Student Fund and the Trevor Dillon Agronomic Study Scholarship continue to support Roseworthy campus operations.

ROCA also continued its support of Student Prizes. Dominic Meaney received the Old Students' Cup for second highest aggregate in the Batchelor of Agriculture, and Steven Krieger won the Old Collegians' Medal for overall performance in studies for the Batchelor of Natural resource Management.

Leith Yelland helped us produce two newsletters this year – an Autumn and a Spring edition. If you think these newsletters can be improved, let us know. I must say I was really pleased to receive letters from ROCA members wanting to convey their views about issues raised in the newsletters.

Roseworthy 125-year celebrations will be a highlight next year. Some good planning has already occurred, with strong support from the Vice-Chancellor. Make sure you reserve Saturday 18 October and Sunday 2 November 2008 in your diaries.

The ROCA Committee wishes to acknowledge the great work of the University in achieving funding for the establishment of an innovative veterinary school at the Roseworthy Campus.

Five excellent nominations were received for the ROCA Award of Merit for 2007.

Locky McLaren President ROCA