Minutes of the Roseworthy Old Collegians Association Inc.

122nd Annual General Meeting – Friday 16th October 2020

Virtual "Zoom" meeting

Opening & Welcome;

Opened at 18:00

President Fiona Hill welcomed members to the meeting both in person and those attending via Zoom.

Present:

Fiona Hill, Andrew Dennis, Mark Rodda, Tom Nelligan, Jess van de Weyer, Kate Forest, Dick Turnbull, Dale Mason, David Coyner, David Spencer, Alice Catford, Martin Andrew, Andrew Eastick, Ben Dennis, Paul Symonds, Mark Egarr, Ian Arnold

Apologies:

Nick Koch, Peter Dunn, Dr Bruce Eastick

ROCA 2019 AGM Minutes and Confirmation:

Moved by: Mark Rodda Seconded: Andrew Dennis

Recognition of recently deceased ROCA Members / Roseworthy Graduates for 2019/2020 Year

Brian Joseph Barry (RDOen 1948)

Richard John Carter (DipAppSc Ag 1981)

Raymond John Driver (RDA 1962)

Peter Frederick Flavel (RDA 1973)

Fred Freeman

Roland Paul Freund (RDA 1959)

Ralph Allen Graham (RDOen 1978)

Colin Raymond Gramp AM (Pre-war student in the late 1930's)

Roxley James Hall (RDA 1959)

John Sherwood Hardy (RDA 1962)

Robert Otto Knappstein (RDOen 1947)

Brett Anthony Martell (DipAppSc Ag 1984 / BAppSc Ag 1989)

Donald Wheaton Moyle (RDA 1948) (ROCA Award of Merit 1999)

Geoffrey Russell Norman (RDD 1951)

Michael John Bingley Tandy (RDA 1962)

William Donald Watson (RDA 1969)

David Wollaston

Richard Arthur Trench Woodward (RDA 1962)

Philip John Young AM (RDA 1939) (ROCA Award of Merit 2008)

Presidents Report:

The full report is attached, but in summary outgoing President Fiona Hill noted with regret the annual dinner this year had to be cancelled due to Covid-19; the president gave her thanks to the keen committee members. ROCA continues its good work due to the commitment of this group of volunteers. Also, thanks to Carolyn McLean, the Alumni Relations Officer at Adelaide Uni. Regretfully acknowledged passing of members; The relationship with Adelaide Uni is working well thanks to the hard work of Carolyn McLean and the committee members. Wine fundraising is going well thanks to the support of O'Leary Walker wines; This year's Award of Merit recipient is Wayne Hein. Thanks to donations received during the year and wine sales ROCA donated their usual top-tier prizes at the annual Roseworthy Campus Students Award ceremony.

Treasurers Report:

Presented by Treasurer Mark Rodda and attached.

In summary ROCA achieved a net profit of \$3,884 compared to a loss of \$11,000 last year. This is principally due to the timing of the payment of the dinner deposit last year, and also a savings by moving the digest to electronic format rather than printed.

Total equity is now \$44,496

Proposed the audited figures be accepted: Mark Rodda

Seconded: Dale Manson

Election of Officers:

All positions declared vacant. Nominations as follows were received, accepted and confirmed by the meeting for the next year.

President: Kate Forest

Vice President: Jess van de Weyer

Immediate Past President: Fiona Hill

Secretary: Andrew Dennis

Treasurer: Tom Nelligan

Graduate 1-10 Years: Temporarily vacant

Graduate from 2017: Temporarily vacant

Current Student: Temporarily vacant

Campus Director: Wayne Hein

Eyre Peninsula Rep: Mark Rodda

South East Rep: tba

Riverland Rep: Dale Manson

Mid North/YP Rep: David Coyner

Ordinary Committee Members: Andrew Eastick

Public Officer: Dick Turnbull

Auditor: William Buck

Other business:

Matters arising from the previous AGM around the obelisk and flag design were discussed and have been dealt with accordingly. Further details will be forthcoming in the next digest.

Meeting closed;

18:27pm

Next Committee meeting: 23rd Nov