

ROCA AWARD OF MERIT 2008 – Philip John Young AM

Philip Young (RDA 1939) graduated from Roseworthy Agricultural College in 1939 as the gold medallist and multiple award and scholarship winner. His subsequent studies at the University of Adelaide were interrupted by four and a half years of army service, mainly in the Middle East and included the first and second battles of El Alamein. He completed his Agricultural Science degree with meritorious results in 1946 and gained employment as a Field Supervisor for agricultural land development for War Service Settlement in the SA Government.

In 1951 he was allocated a soldier settler's holding. He made a significant contribution to ROCA during the 1950s as Chairman of the South-East Branch, had a major role in re-establishing the Kybybolite Agricultural Bureau and was a member of the South Australian Advisory Board of Agriculture. Following the award of a Nuffield Farming Scholarship to the UK in 1959 he became increasingly involved in agricultural consulting.

In 1965 he formed a partnership with the late Newton Tiver, which led to the formation of the Australian Agricultural Consulting and Management Company (AACM). AACM was one of the first Australian and international agricultural consulting companies and became highly successful. It expanded its local work to direct the development of large tracts of land in southern Australia and higher rainfall cattle country in northern and North-Eastern Australia, including projects with Aboriginal communities. AACM offices were established in Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Mackay, Brisbane and Tamworth. International projects followed for the World Bank and other international agencies and, by the mid-1980s, the company employed up to 60 consultants on agricultural projects in more than 20 developing countries.

In parallel with this commercial business success, he contributed significantly to agricultural organisations in Australia. He has been a member of the Agricultural Courses Advisory Committee for Roseworthy Agricultural College, on the Advisory Council of the CSIRO and the Committee for Cooperation between the CSIRO and Australian Universities, Chairman of the University of Adelaide's Agricultural Science Alumni Committee, State Chairman of the Australian Nuffield Farming Scholars' Association and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Agricultural Science and Technology.

In 1986 he was appointed a General Member of the Order of Australia for services to agricultural development in Australia and developing countries.

