Skip to content

Important Dates

South Australia

  • Racing & Wagering
    1838 Adelaide's first race meeting.
    1879 South Australia introduces Australia's first on-course totalisator.
    1883 All gambling banned on Adelaide racetracks.
    1888 On-course totalisator re-introduced.
    1933 Off-course betting shop legalised.
    1946 Betting shops closed down.
    1967 Totalisator Agency Board (TAB) established for off-course betting.
    2002 SA TAB privatised.
  • Lotteries
    1965 Referendum on State lottery receives majority vote in favour.
    1966 State Lotteries Act enacted by State Parliament.
    1966 Lotteries Commission for South Australia established.
    1967 First Lottery Commission tickets go on sale in South Australia.
    1978 Instant Money Games ("scratchies") launched.
    1981 SA Lotteries and agencies in Victoria and WA form Australian Lotto Bloc.
    1984 Fully computerised betting system launched.
    1990 "Club Keno" introduced across the State.
  • Casino
    1983 Casino Act enacted by State Parliament.
    1985 Adelaide Casino opens.
    1991 Casino authorised to operate casino style electronic gaming machines.
    1993 Casino authorised to operate conventional electronic gaming machines.
    2000 Casino purchased by SKYCITY Entertainment Group Limited.

    Electronic Gaming Machines (EGMs)

    1992 Gaming Machines Act enacted by State Parliament.
    1994 EGMs appear in hotels and clubs.
    2000 Government announces freeze on EGM numbers.
    2005 Trading system commences, with aim of reducing EGM numbers by 20 per cent (3,000 machines).

Source: SA Centre for Economic Studies (2006), The South Australian Gambling Industry, and Australian Institute for Gambling Research (1999),  Australian Gambling.

The South Australian Centre for Economic Studies

Level 3
10 Pulteney Street
The University of Adelaide SA 5005
North Tce Campus Map


Telephone: +61 8 8313 5555
Facsimile: +61 8 8313 4916
Staff Directory: SA Centre for Economic Studies

School of Economics