About Us

The Stretton Institute shapes policy debate by bringing current and rigorous research to policy issues.

We bring together researchers and experts from across the University of Adelaide to address key policy issues of relevance to government. 

Named after Hugh Stretton, the Institute has a strong social justice focus and drives a multi-disciplinary and multi-method research approach that:

  • Stimulate ideas and innovation; and
  • Evaluate programs and policies.

The Institute fosters and builds partnerships across the University as well as nationally and internationally.

Our People

  • The Director

  • Research Program Directors

    Professor Rachel Ankeny

    Agrifood Policy

    Professor Emma Baker

    Building a City for the Future

    Professor Lisa Hill

    Democracy, Security, Trust and Integrity

    Professor Ashok Khurana

    Climate Change and Energy Transition

    Professor Chris Leishman

    Economic Productivity through Population

  • Advisory Board

    Mr David Tune AO PSM (Chair)

    Ms Ruth Ambler
    Executive Director, Cabinet Office, Government of South Australia

    Professor Richard Hillis
    Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Performance), The University of Adelaide

    Mr Mal Hyde AO

    Associate Professor Melissa Nursey-Bray
    Interim Head, School of Social Sciences, The University of Adelaide

    Professor John Phillimore
    Executive Director, John Curtin Institute of Public Policy, Curtin University

    Rev. Peter Sandeman
    Chief Executive Officier, Anglicare SA

    Professor Mark Western
    Director, Institute for Social Science Research, The University of Queensland

  • Members

    Academic staff, affiliates, adjuncts and higher degree by research students from the University of Adelaide working in Policy are wishing to become a Stretton Institute member, please contact us.

    Contact Us