About Us

The University of Adelaide Theatre Guild ('the Guild') is a not-for-profit community theatre company located at the University of Adelaide's North Terrace campus.

The Guild is the second oldest amateur theatre company in South Australia, and celebrates its 85th anniversary in 2023. This longevity in itself is exceptional but what is remarkable at the Guild is the pivotal role it has and continues to play in the development of both amateur and professional theatre in Adelaide and in Australia.

It is the Guild's intent that each season reflects an enduring focus on our strengths, the courage to embrace the obscure, a commitment to support modern Australian playwrights, and a willingness to work with new talent from our wonderful city.

  • Board of Management

    The Theatre Guild Board is responsible for the ongoing health and viability of the Theatre Guild.  It is the Guild's highest-level decision-making body, and has legal responsibility for the Guild's resources and activities.

    The Board has ultimate responsibility for establishing the Guild's purpose, mission and vision. It oversees the management and implementation of the Guild's affairs. It fosters the Guild's progress and development, secures the support of members and friends, and promotes the identity of the Guild in the community. The Board is a working Board, and Board members have practical input into the Guild's progress towards achieving its goals. In 2021, the Guild implemented a dedicated Programming Committee.

    Board Members

    • Emily Branford
    • Bartholomew Csorba, Chair
    • Gary George
    • Oswin Kwan
    • Angela Short
    • Margot Storer
    • Eleanor Thomas
    • Annabel Whitford, ex officio
    • Clinton Nitchske, Student Representative
    • Deli Cooper, Student Representative

    Programming Committee

    • Jessica Carroll
    • Lucy Johnson
    • Angela Short
    • Mark Wickett
  • Corporate friends

    The University of Adelaide is the principal sponsor of the University of Adelaide Theatre Guild. The Theatre Guild also acknowledges the generous ongoing support of the following corporate friends.

    If you would like to know more about sponsoring the Theatre Guild or one of its productions, please contact the Chairperson via theatreguild@adelaide.edu.au.

  • Donors

    We thank the following generous donors to the University of Adelaide Theatre Guild Inc. Public Fund, and also four donors who wish to remain anonymous.

    Michael Abbott QC Sue Averay  The late John Bannon The late Jim Bettison
    Melinda Boston The late Jill Brislan The late Peter Brooks The late Doreen & Paul Bulbeck
    The late Roxy Byrne Antonio Comin & Eva Calvaresi  John Davies John Edge
    Michael Eustice The late Alan Feeney Sue Graebner Belinda Hall
    The late Bill & Myfanwy James Bruce King Jean Mayo The late Graham Nerlich
    Elizabeth & John Pryzibilla Alison Robb & Marie Docking Beryl Sheasby David Smith
    The Info Service Company (Ian Shakes) Neil Ward Grant Algie QC & Melanie Hibberd  Michael Baldwin 
    Stephen Beaumont Mollie Birch Emily Branford The late Alan Brissenden
    The late Mary Brownlee & Peter Hornsby Tom Burton Ray Choate Warwick Cooper
    The late Decie Denholm Julianne English & Kym Thorne Jenny Evans  Liz Follett
    The late Phil Grummet Leeanne Head Rollo Kiek Adrienne Lovelock
    The late Harry Medlin Jo Peoples Jean Rigby Patricia Ryan
    The late Simon Slade Baden Teague    


    The Theatre Guild is officially registered as an Incorporated Association in South Australia. The University of Adelaide Theatre Guild Inc. Public Fund is approved for tax-deductibility purposes on the Commonwealth Government's Register of Cultural Organisations under SubSection 30-300(7) of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997. Any donations can be sent to: Theatre Guild, Union House, University of Adelaide, Adelaide SA 5005.