Skip to content

The National Immunisation Program

The Australian Government's 'Immunise Australia Program' implements the National Immunisation Program (NIP).

The NIP provides free vaccination against 16 diseases, including:

  • Diptheria
  • Haemophilus influenzae type B
  • Hepatitis A
  • Hepatitis B
  • Human papillomavirus
  • Influenza (commonly known as the flu)
  • Measles
  • Meningococcus type C
  • Mumps
  • Pertussis (commonly known as whooping cough)
  • Pneumococcal
  • Poliomyelitis
  • Rotavirus
  • Rubella
  • Tetanus
  • Varicella (commonly known as chickenpox)

The aim of the NIP is to help protect Australians from potentially harmful diseases before they come into contact with it.

By providing free vaccinations, the Program aims to increase national immunisation rates and communicate information about immunisation to the public and health professionals.

The NIP Schedule provides the most up-to-date immunisation recommendations for Australia and specifies at what age both adults and children should receive certain vaccines. This includes routine childhood vaccinations against diseases that were once widely fatal, such as measles, diptheria and whooping cough, as well as newly developed vaccines, such as human papillomavirus and meningococcal C vaccine.

The complete list of the recommended vaccination milestones is shown in the National Immunisation Program Schedule.

Although the specific disease the vaccine protects against and the type of vaccine administered remains the same for each age group and each state, the vaccine brand may be different depending on the state.

The NIP Schedule for your specific state can be viewed here (all links open in a new window):

Stimulated Telephone Assisted Rapid Safety Surveillance (STARSS)



T: +61 8 8313 9184
F: +61 8 8161 7031