Welcome from the Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor Peter Høj AC, Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor Peter Høj AC,
Vice-Chancellor and President

Welcome to the University of Adelaide, one of the top 1% of universities worldwide.

At the University of Adelaide, innovation and world-class teaching and learning are built on a rich history of excellence spanning more than 140 years.

Our bright young minds learn alongside internationally recognised leaders in their fields, and our globally recognised research creates economic and social impact for industry, government and the community.

A member of Australia’s prestigious Group of Eight (Go8) research-intensive universities, Adelaide is the leading university in our state. Our operational revenue of almost $1 billion annually makes us a major educational and research powerhouse, with the vast majority of our research rated ‘above or well above world standard’ by the Australian Research Council’s Excellence in Research Australia program.

Five Nobel Laureates, more than 100 Rhodes Scholars – including Australia’s first and third Indigenous recipients – and Australia’s first female Prime Minister are all among our distinguished alumni. We attract a diverse student body from more than 90 countries.

The University of Adelaide is known for its excellence, creativity of thinking, and innovation. We were established on a foundation of access and equity, and we have a proud history of diversity – we were the first university in Australia and among the first in the world to admit women to all degree programs.

Under my leadership, the University of Adelaide will also be known for its integrity, honesty and accountability, for its diversity of opinions and backgrounds, for a culture of mutual respect and dignity, and for its dedicated support for our students and staff, and the community in which we are based. Together we will achieve more for the prosperity and social cohesion of the local and global communities we serve in.

Thank you.

Professor Peter Høj AC
Vice-Chancellor and President