Skip to content

Animal and Veterinary Science Honours Projects

Here is a list of honours projects available for 2018. Please contact the supervisor listed to discuss these projects:

If you would like further information about the honours program, one of our honours coordinators will be able to assist you.

  • Animal and Veterinary Bioscience
    Supervisor Research Interest
    Dr Susan Hazel
    susan.hazel@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7828
    Animal welfare, animal cognition, human-animal interactions.
    Prof Stefan Hiendleder
    stefan.hiendleder@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 0421054046
    Identification of nonmendelian genetic and epigenetic components in the molecular architecture of quantitative traits. Identify and to develop new (epi)genetic markers and approaches to achieve optimal programming outcomes at birth that impact on postnatal health and performance.
    Prof Phil Hynd
    philip.hynd@adelaide.edu.au Phone: 8313 7871
    Application of animal physiology and nutrition to animal production, welfare and conservation.
    Dr Todd McWhorter
    todd.mcwhorter@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7896
    Comparative physiology- gastrointestinal and renal, nutrition, heat tolerance/stress; Physiological ecology; Conservation physiology.
    Dr Hayley McGrice
    hayley.mcgrice@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7640
    Education research focussed on team-based learning and the introduction of the small groups discovery experience (SGDE). Students’ perceptions of team-based and peer-assisted learning and the effectiveness of the SGDE are of particular interest.
    Dr Natasha Speight
    natasha.speight@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 0655
    Koala health and disease in South Australia
    Dr Alex Whittaker
    alexandra.whittaker@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7868
    Animal welfare and law.  Whilst my interest focus is primarily in research animals I have studies of other species in welfare projects.  Main research focus is on procedural/husbandry improvements that can refine animal use in this area.
  • Companion Animal Health
    Supervisor Research Interest
    Dr Suong NT Ngo
    suong.ngo@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 0660
    Xenobiotic Metabolism in Australian marsupials.
    Dr Anne Peaston
    anne.peaston@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 1926
    Cancer genetics in dogs, unique features of cat biology. Gene expression in cells predestined to become cancers, and what junk DNA has to do with the process of cancer formation. 
    Dr Anthony Nicholson
    anthony.nicholson@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone:  8313 1931
    Sedation, anaesthesia and analgesia of domestic animals and wildlife.
  • Equine Health
    Supervisor Research Interest
    Dr Sam Franklin
    sam.franklin@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7931
    Sam's clinical and research interests relate to causes of poor performance in equine athletes, with a particular interest in cardiorespiratory disorders.
    Dr Jose Len
    jose.lenyin@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 2646
    In vitro production of equine embryos. Focused on the improvement of equine oocyte maturation and intracytoplasmic sperm injection.
  • Pathobiology, Infectious Diseases and Public Health
    Supervisor Research Interest
    Dr Charles Caraguel
    charles.caraguel@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 1245
    Detection, monitoring and management of diseases in populations farmed aquatic species.
    Dr Farhid Hemmatzadeh
    fahrid.hemmatzadeh@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7723
    Molecular biology and test development for avian influenza virus
    Dr Andrea R. McWhorter andrea.mcwhorter@adelaide.edu.au Phone: 8313 7907 Molecular and cellular mechanisms of Salmonella pathogenesis.
    Dr Philip Stott
    philip.stott@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7838
    Wild mammals and reptiles (tigers, moose, mink, rhinoceros, tarsiers, hares, rabbits, foxes, tortoises so far)
    Dr Stephen Pyecroft
    stephen.pyecroft@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7823
    Pathology and disease progression of farmed aquatic species.
  • Production Animal Health
    Supervisor Research Interest
    Prof Peter Cockcroft
    peter.cockcroft@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7883
    Rumen health and production diseases in the transitional ruminant. Tools to optimize disease surveillance and monitoring.
    Assoc Prof Roy Kirkwood
    roy.kirkwood@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7617
    Controlling ovarian follicular development and time of ovulation. This will allow maintenance of fertility when using single matings.
    Dr James Munro
    james.munro@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 0081
    The detection and control of aquatic disease within aquaculture.
    Dr Will van Wettere
    william.vanwettere@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7911
    My primary research areas focus on developing strategies which improve ovarian function and oocyte quality in breeding females, and increase the viability, vigour and survival of neonates.
    Professor Wayne Pitchford
    wayne.pitchford@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7642
    Sheep and beef cattle genetics, breeding and production including meat science.
  • Professional Skills
    Supervisor Research Interest
    Adele Feakes
    adele.feakes@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 0080
    Non-technical, business and entrepreneurial skills for the veterinarian, animal or agricultural science graduate. Career intent of veterinary undergraduates and graduate.
    Dr Alex Whittaker
    alexandra.whittaker@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 8313 7868
    Animal welfare and law. Whilst my interest focus is primarily in research animals I have studies of other species in welfare projects.  Main research focus is on procedural/husbandry improvements that can refine animal use in this area.
  • Our Collaborators
    Supervisor Research Interest
    Professor Mary Barton
    mary.barton@unisa.edu.au
    Phone: 8302 2933
    UniSA, Animal Welfare Officer
    Potential for bacteriophages to control Rhodococcus equi infections in foals
    Dr Forbes Brien,
    Room G12, Davies Building
    forbes.brien@adelaide.edu.au 
    Mob: 0427004066
    Quantitative genetics and its application to livestock improvement programs. Reproductive physiology research. Current focus is genetic improvement of lamb survival and reproductive performance, prediction of genetic gain in reproductive performance and lamb survival, disease and welfare traits in sheep
    Dr Michael Conlon
    michael.conlon@csiro.au
    Phone: 83038909
    CSIRO Food and Nutrition
    The role of diet in gut health, with an emphasis on prebiotics and polyphenols, the gut microbiota and their metabolites, promotion of gut integrity and lowering of colonic inflammation
    A/Professor Adrian Cummins
    adrian.cummins@adelaide.edu.au
    Basil Hetzel Institute for Translational Medical Research, The Queen Elizabeth Hospital
    Investigation of Wnt3a as an intestinal growth factor
    Dr John Finnie
    john.finnie@health.sa.gov.au
    Phone: 8222 3370
    SA Pathology, Adelaide, S.A. 5000
    Veterinary neurological disorders and animal models of human neurological diseases.
    Dr Kathy Gatford
    kathy.gatford@adelaide.edu.au
    (School of Medicine)
    Understanding early life events influence the risk of developing diseases, including diabetes, obesity and cardiovascular disease, using a sheep model of restricted placental growth to assess the long-term effects of altered fetal growth on postnatal health.
    Dr Zlatko Kopecki
    zlatko.kopecki@unisa.edu.au
    Phone:  83026384
    (UniSA, Mawson Lakes Campus, Mawson Institute, Regenerative Medicine)
    Understanding the mechanisms of wound healing and developing novel therapies for treatment of different types of wounds, including skin wounds and injured mucosal tissue following inflammation or blistering.
    Dr Suzanne Mashtoub
    suzanne.mashtoub@uwa.edu.au
    (Gastroenterology Department, Women’s and Children’s Hospital)
    Emu Oil and protection from gastrointestinal disorders
    Dr Melanie McDowall
    melanie.mcdowall@adelaide.edu.au
    Phone: 83131013,
    (School of Medicine)
    Oocyte and embryo development, mechanisms through which longer-term health is influenced by stress or perturbation during the periconceptional period.
    Dr David Stone
    david.stone@sa.gov.au
    Phone: 8207 5350
    SARDI Aquatic Sciences
    Aquaculture Nutrition and Feed Technology
School of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
Address

School of Animal & Veterinary Sciences
THE UNIVERSITY OF ADELAIDE
SA 5005 AUSTRALIA

General Enquiries

T: +61 8 8313 7987
avs_enquiries@adelaide.edu.au

Student Enquiries

Call +61 8 8313 7660

(Monday - Friday: 9am – 5pm)

Search the Knowledge Base
Email animalvetsci@adelaide.edu.au