Skip to content

The W.V. MacFarlane Prize

The sum of $2,500 having been given to the University by friends, colleagues and former students of the late Professor W.V. MacFarlane, Professor of Animal Physiology at the Waite Agricultural Research Institute of the University from 1964 to 1978, for the purpose of founding a prize in his memory, it is hereby provided as follows:

  • There shall be a prize to be known as ‘The W.V. MacFarlane Prize' which shall be available for award each year.
  • Until otherwise determined by the Faculty, the value of the prize shall be $500.
  • The prize shall be awarded by the Faculty to the student who obtains the highest aggregate mark for the Honours degree studied in Animal Science.
  • Where two or more candidates eligible for the prize are of equal merit the prize shall be shared equally among them.
  • These rules may be varied from time to time by the Faculty, but the title and purpose of the prize shall not be changed.

Past Winners

2000 Haydn Kuchel 2001 Leanne Michelle Veitch
2002 Jim Franklin-Mcevoy 2003 Not Awarded
2004 Stephen Joel Clark 2005 Stephen John Lee
2006 David Samuel Lines 2007 Sarah Louise Truran
2008 Carina Jade Cowley 2009 Helen Golder
2010 Sasha Lanyon 2011 Frankie Bowley
2012 Geraldine Laven-Law 2013  
2014 Jessica Fabjian 2015 Vanessa Tamlin
School of Animal and Veterinary Sciences

School of Animal & Veterinary Sciences

General Enquiries

T: +61 8 8313 7987

Student Enquiries

Call +61 8 8313 7660

(Monday - Friday: 9am – 5pm)

Search the Knowledge Base