Natural History of the Coorong, Lower Lakes, and Murray Mouth region (Yarluwar-Ruwe)

Natural history CLLMM cover

Royal Society of South Australia

edited by Luke Mosley, Qifeng Ye, Scoresby Shepherd, Steve Hemming, Rob Fitzpatrick


FREE | 2019 | Ebook (PDF) | 978-1-925261-81-3 | 540pp


Download Free PDF

Buy from amazon

This book, a volume in the Natural History Series by the Royal Society of South Australia, explores the natural history of the Coorong, Lower Lakes, and Murray Mouth (Yarluwar-Ruwe) region of South Australia (the CLLMM), a region that has been listed as a Wetland of International Importance under the Ramsar Convention.

The book is divided into four main themes: a historical overview of the region; its physical-chemical nature; its biological systems; and its management, resource use and conservation. The effects of large-scale anthropogenic change, climate change, global warming and sea level changes are discussed from multiple perspectives, as are the effects of acid sulfate soils and the overall consequences of the Millennium Drought on the CLLMM’s water quality, biological life and food web.

The discussion includes information from Ngarrindjeri leaders about the history and culture of the Ngarrindjeri people, the traditional owners of the region’s land and waters. The book concludes by establishing the vision and framework required for the important and increasing role that the Ngarrindjeri Nation will play in the shared long-term management of the region.