Uni of Adelaide Year 11 pathway extended for 2022 intake



    Year 12 students in South Australia and some interstate will have the option of using their Year 11 results to gain entry to the University of Adelaide for study in 2022.

    This year, the University has offered a Year 11 Alternative Entry Pathway for entry in 2021. The new pathway is aimed at reassuring and supporting South Australia’s Year 12 students impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.

    “Due to an overwhelmingly positive response from schools, parents and communities, we will extend our Year 11 Alternative Entry Pathway for students looking to study with us in 2022,” says Professor Jennie Shaw, Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic).

    “This is more good news for students who want to study at one of Australia’s top universities.

    “For the first time, this pathway will also be open to students at schools in the Northern Territory. We will continue our commitment to supporting students in border communities in Victoria and New South Wales,” Professor Shaw says.

    The pathway gives students the option of using their Year 11 results as a basis for entry to all University of Adelaide undergraduate degrees, excluding a small group of competitive (capped) entry degrees. (see exclusion list below.)

    Students must still successfully complete an Australian Year 12 qualification (such as SACE, HSC, VCE, or IB) and any applicable subject prerequisites. Students will need to achieve As and Bs in their top four subjects in Year 11 to be considered for the alternative pathway.

    “This is more good news for students who want to study at one of Australia’s top universities.”Professor Jennie Shaw

    Last month, more than 2000 Australian students were offered a place at the University of Adelaide in 2021 based on their Year 11 performance.

    For the 2022 intake, the alternative entry pathway will be available to students at all South Australian schools, as well as to students at 10 schools in the Northern Territory, 13 regional schools in border communities in Victoria, and three schools in border communities in New South Wales.

    The existing entry schemes via ATAR and Year 12 subject-based pathways will remain in place.

    “We know that students who are achieving in Year 11 are already on the right path to success at university,” Professor Shaw says.

    “The University of Adelaide has helped to lead the way in alternative pathways for students. We hope that by extending the Year 11 pathway for studies in 2022, we will give more students the opportunity to pursue a world-class education.”

    For more information about the Year 11 Alternative Entry Pathway, visit: ua.edu.au/yr11-entry-pathway

    Which degrees are excluded?

    The University of Adelaide’s alternative Year 11-based entry pathway applies to all undergraduate degrees with the exception of competitive programs (ie, those in which places are limited, or offered according to additional, merit-based criteria).

    Exempt degrees:

    • Bachelor of Dental Surgery
    • Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery
    • Bachelor of Nursing (Pre-registration)
    • Bachelor of Occupational Therapy (Hons)
    • Bachelor of Oral Health
    • Bachelor of Physiotherapy (Hons)
    • Bachelor of Speech Pathology (Hons)
    • Bachelor of Science (Veterinary Bioscience)
    • Honours Degree of Bachelor of Science in High Performance Computational Physics.
    Tagged in Year 11, year 12, Year 11 pathway, atar, alternative pathway, University entry, schools, regional schools