Skip to content

Corporate Membership

The South Australian Centre for Economic Studies offers a Corporate Membership Program, which is open to private companies, public sector agencies, and other organisations.

By becoming a Corporate Member of the South Australian Centre for Economic Studies, you are helping to promote high quality economic debate in South Australia; helping in raising awareness and understanding of economic issues; and ensuring a higher standard of economic analysis and policy formulation in South Australia.

The main benefits for Corporate Members are:

  • receipt of the Centre’s bi-annual Briefing Reports, which provide a detailed assessment of the situation and outlook for the Australian and South Australian economies, together with additional analysis and commentary on topical economic issues;
  • participation for two representatives in the Briefing Luncheon which accompanies the release of each Briefing Report and gives the opportunity to listen to and question a guest speaker and Centre staff on a particular topical economic issue;
  • the opportunity to network with key public and private sector decision makers;
  • the opportunity to invite and host clients, business associates and colleagues at a high profile and relevant function;
  • receipt of the Centre’s periodic Issues Papers, which provide commentary on topical economic issues;
  • an invitation to other occasional seminars and functions organised by the Centre, either as part of your membership or at reduced rates because you are a member; and
  • priority access to research and consulting services of the Centre throughout the year.

Further information is provided at Becoming a Member, or view the full list of Corporate Members.

Additional Benefits

There are a number of opportunities to realise additional benefits from your association with the SA Centre for Economic Studies. These include:

  •  the opportunity to sponsor one of the Briefing Luncheons - thus providing a forum to market your organisation and its activities to other Corporate Members;
  • the opportunity for the Centre to provide a tailored economic assessment to your company/organisation - building on the material presented in the Briefing Report, but looking in more detail at topics relevant to your industry/organisation and to specific decision making and strategic planning issues. These tailored economic assessments can be either verbal (e.g. a presentation to senior management) or via a written report.

More information on these opportunities, and the cost of these services, can be obtained by contacting the Centre.

  • Recent Speakers
    • Dr John Hewson AM, former Leader of the Liberal Party and Leader of the Opposition, Professor and Chair of the Tax and Transfer Policy Institute, Australian National University;
    • Hon Dr Craig Emerson, Managing Director, Craig Emerson Economics, and President of the Australia China Business Council NSW;
    • Mr Innes Willox, Chief Executive, Australian Industry Group;
    • Mr Garry Bowditch, Executive Director, Better Infrastructure Initiative;
    • Professor Ross Garnaut AO, Professional Research Fellow in Economics, University of Melbourne;
    • Professor Ian Harper, Chair, Competition Policy Review Panel and Partner, Deloitte Access Economics;
    • Dr John Edwards, Board Member of the Reserve Bank of Australia;
    • Hon Rob Lucas, MLC and Shadow Treasurer;
    • Dr Jenny Gordon, Principal Adviser Research, Productivity Commission;
    • Professor Gary Banks, Dean and CEO of the Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG) and former Chair, Productivity Commission;
    • Professor Gary Sturgess, NSW Premier's ANZSOG Chair of Public Service Delivery, University of New South Wales;
    • Mr Garry Costello, Head of Schools, Office of Schools, Department for Education and Child Development;
    • Ms Glenys Beauchamp, Secretary of the Department of Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government;
    • Mr David Tune, Secretary of the Department of Finance and Deregulation;
    • Mr Ken Matthews, AO, Chair and Chief Executive Officer, National Water Commission;
    • Mr Rory Robertson, Interest Rate Strategist, Macquarie Bank;
    • Hon Gary Gray, AO, MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and Northern Australia;
    • Mr Saul Eslake, Chief Economist, ANZ;
    • Mr Lindsay Tanner, MP, Shadow Minister for Finance;
    • Professor Peter Cullen, AO, FTSE;
    • Mr Graeme Samuel, AO, Chairman of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission;
    • Mr John Bastian, Deputy Chair, Economic Development Board;
    • Mr Rod Hook, Executive Director, Office for Infrastructure Development;
    • Mr Kevin Foley, MHA, Deputy Premier, Treasurer;
    • Hon Clare Martin, MLA, Chief Minister of the Northern Territory;
    • Mr Glenn Stevens, Deputy Governor, Reserve Bank of Australia;
    • Hon Amanda Vanstone, MP, Minister for Family and Community Services;
    • Hon Mike Rann, MP, Premier of South Australia;
    • Mr Bill Spurr, Chief Executive Officer, South Australian Tourism Commission;
    • Mr Dennis Trewin, Australian Statistician;
    • Professor Allan Fels, Chairperson, Australian Competition and Consumer Commission;
    • Professor Judith Brine, Executive Dean, Faculty of PALACE, Adelaide University, Councillor, Adelaide City Council;
    • Mr Lew Owens, South Australian Independent Industry Regulator;
    • Mr Peter Hussin, First Assistant Secretary, Trade Negotiations Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade;
    • Mr Robert L Meuser, Kistler Aerospace Corporation;
    • Mr Tim McDermott, General Manager Business Development, Adelaide Airport Limited;
    • Hon John Olsen, MHA, as Minister for Manufacturing, Industry, Small Business and Regional Development;
    • Mr Ted Evans, Secretary to the Commonwealth Treasury;
    • Hon Alexander Downer MP, as Leader of the Opposition; and
    • Dr Vince Fitzgerald - author of reports on Tax Reform and Savings.
The South Australian Centre for Economic Studies

Level 3
10 Pulteney Street
The University of Adelaide SA 5005
North Tce Campus Map


Telephone: +61 8 8313 5555
Facsimile: +61 8 8313 4916
Staff Directory: SA Centre for Economic Studies

School of Economics