Graduate Profile - Ophelia Veloudos

WiSAN Committee member

What did you study at University?
Bachelor of Law/Bachelor of Science

Are you a cat person or dog person?

Favourite place to eat when in Adelaide?
Golden Boy

What drew you to your field?
I started university studying a Bachelor of Law and Bachelor of Commerce double-degree, but after one year I knew Commerce wasn’t for me. I pursued a Bachelor of Science on a whim – but it was the best decision I ever made! I have always had a keen interest in biological sciences and loved the idea of pairing that interest with my Law degree. It’s an unusual combination but I wouldn’t change it for the world.

If I could go back to my University days I would…
Attend a pub crawl – I never got around to it during my studies!

Most prized possession  
A gold watch my grandmother gave me which was given to her by my grandfather after she gave him a kidney.

If you could start a charity, what would it be for?
To be honest my dream charity already exists and I am lucky enough to volunteer at it. TABOO Sanitary Products sells pads and tampons and donates 100% of the net profits to projects which promote sanitary care and education.

What is your greatest career strength?
I love public speaking and feel comfortable talking in front of a crowd.

Something that makes you smile?
My two-year-old niece.

What current fact about your life would most impress your five year old self?
My five-year-old self would be impressed by my shoe collection. My first word was ‘shoe’ so it’s been a life-long love.

Something you are grateful for?
My family and the education I’ve received.

What is your dream role?
My dream role would involve advocating for legislative change to improve the laws governing women’s health.

What’s your favourite flower or plant?

What do you wish someone had told you after you graduated?
Find a mentor in the field you want to work in. Having someone to bounce ideas off of, ask questions and generally guide you is so helpful during some of the unknown times after graduating.

I cannot get through the day without…
Matcha! It is full of antioxidants and, in my opinion, gives me more energy than a cup of coffee.

Three words your closest friends would use to describe you
Trustworthy, honest, considerate

Biggest career highlight/goal
Getting my first full-time job. It’s only up from here!

My goal for this year is…
To practice saying no. Like many women, I feel I say yes to too many things and forget to make time for myself. This year I’m focusing on only saying yes to the things that I really want to do, rather than what I feel obligated to do.

What does your perfect breakfast look like?
Eggs, avocado, and goat curd on toast, lemon, salt and pepper.

Best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?
Don’t confuse having a career with having a life. You can replace a career but you can’t replace a family.