Prizes & Awards

The University of Adelaide strongly supports and encourages our excellent researchers to nominate, and be nominated, for external Prizes, Awards, and Fellowships of the Learned Academies.

These prestigious measures of esteem strengthen track record, provide evidence of engagement & impact metrics, and support the University's Strategic Plan.

Research Services encourage researchers to participate by:

  • disseminating information regarding upcoming opportunities;
  • collating and publishing information on nomination & submission requirements; and
  • providing support to compile nominations; including review and feedback for Selected Prizes, Awards, and Fellowships of the Learned Academies.


Australian Academy of Science Honorific Awards

Recognises distinguished research in three categories: early-career scientists up to 10 years post PhD, mid-career scientists 8 to 15 years post PhD, and the prestigious career awards which are made to scientists for life-long achievement.

Prime Minister's Prizes for Science

The Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science are Australia’s most prestigious and highly regarded awards for outstanding achievements in scientific research, research-based innovation and excellence in science teaching.

Australian Museum Eureka Prizes

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes reward excellence in the fields of research & innovation, leadership, science engagement and school science.

South Australian Science Excellence Awards

These Awards recognise and reward outstanding scientific endeavour, including its application in industry and the advancement of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education. Supported by the Government of South Australia.

Young Tall Poppy Science Awards

The prestigious annual Young Tall Poppy Science Awards aim to recognise the achievements of Australia’s outstanding young scientific researchers and communicators.

Fresh Science Awards

Fresh Science is a national competition that takes early-career researchers with no media experience and turns them into spokespeople for science, giving them a taste of life in the limelight, with a day of media training and a public event in their home state.

2019 South Australian Scientist of the Year

The 2019 South Australian Scientist of the Year, went to Professor Gecz, Head of Neurogenetics in the Adelaide Medical School, University of Adelaide.

AEST New Fellows 2020

Professor Andre Luiten (Director, Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing), and Professor Anton van den Hengel (Co-Director, Australian Institute for Machine Learning), are elected as fellows of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

2020 Tall Poppies Award

Meet the University of Adelaide's Tall Poppies - Dr Kylie Dunning, Dr Dr Yan Jiao, Dr Rhiannon Schilling, and Dr Yuval Yarom

Need help?