Skip to content

About Us

The Robinson Research Institute is a collective of internationally renowned researchers in human reproduction, pregnancy and child health at the University of Adelaide - named after E/Prof Jeffrey Robinson.

We focus on the early stages of life to improve the health and well-being of children and families over the life course and across generations, in Australia and around the world.

We seek to enable a healthy start through fertility choices and mindful conception, nurturing the baby during pregnancy and birth, strengthening the brain and body in early life, and advancing child and adolescent health to treat and prevent disease.

Our vision is to achieve life-time health for all children and families, through research excellence.

Our mission is to deliver world-class advances in knowledge of human reproduction, pregnancy and child health, and to inform clinical care, policy and practice that will improve health across generations and global communities.

Our History

  • 1950's - Lloyd Cox appointed
    • 1958: Lloyd Cox appointed as Foundation Professor of the Obstetrics and Gynaecology department (O&G),
      based at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH)
  • 1960's - First biochemist appointed
    • 1962: Ron Cox appointed as a biochemist - first department of its kind to appoint a scientist
    • 1963: Lloyd Cox elected as Dean of Medicine
    • 1969: Bob Seamark appointed by Lloyd Cox
  • 1970's - First donor sperm program established
    • 1971: First frozen semen bank in Australia, and first sperm donor program established
    • 1971: Arnold Gillespie appointed Reader in Obstetrics and Gynaecology
    • 1973: O&G begins a presence at the Royal Adelaide Hospital (RAH)
    • 1977: Alastair MacLennan appointed and based at the Queen Victoria Hospital (QVH)
  • 1980's - Fertility services commenced
    • 1984: Lloyd Cox retires as Head of Department
    • 1984: Arnold Gillespie appointed as Acting Head of Department
    • 1985: O&G achieved South Australia's first birth from a frozen embryo
    • 1986: Jeffrey Robinson appointed as Head of Department
    • 1987: Colin Matthews appointed as first Professor of Reproductive Medicine
    • 1987: Part of O&G moved to the Medical School
    • 1987: Repromed established and commenced fertility services at Wakefield Memorial Hospital (WMH) and the QEH
    • 1988: Rob Norman appointed to O&G
    • 1988: Caroline Crowther appointed to O&G
    • 1988: Sarah Robertson appointed to O&G
  • 1990's - Achieved a live birth following ICSI
    • 1993:  O&G achieved a birth following Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection (ICSI) - Australia was the 3rd in world to successfully use this technique
    • 1993:  O&G achieved its first birth following Preimplantation Genetic Diagnosis (PGD) (cystic fibrosis) - another Australian first (5th in the world)
    • 1994:  O&G begins to have a presence at Lyell McEwin Hospital (LMH) with Paul Duggan appointed as Senior Lecturer
    • 1995:  QVH closes its doors and the Women's and Children's Hospital (WCH) opens
    • 1998:  Gus Dekker appointed as Professor in Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the LMH and the QEH
    • 1999:  Rob Norman appointed as Professor of Reproductive Medicine and Periconceptual Medicine
  • 2000's - Robinson Institute Opens
    • 2002:  Repromed moves to new premises in Dulwich
    • 2002:  Research Centre for Reproductive Health established at QEH & the Medical School
    • 2002:  Research Centre for Early Origins of Health and Disease was established by Prof Julie Owens and colleagues
    • 2006:  Jeffrey Robinson retires as Head of the Department
    • 2006:  Alastair MacLennan appointed Head of the Department
    • 2006:  Repromed sold
    • 2006:  The Research Centre for Reproductive Health and O&G moved from the QEH to form a major centre at the Medical School
    • 2008:  Planning for new building at Norwich Centre and LMH begins
    • 2008:  Robinson Institute opens with Rob Norman appointed as Director
  • 2010's - Re-named to Robinson Research Institute
    • 2012:  Alastair MacLennan retires as Head of the Department, Paul Duggan appointed as Head
    • 2013:  Rob Norman steps down and Sarah Robertson is appointed as Director of the Robinson Institute
    • 2014: The Robinson Institute is re-named to the Robinson Research Institute  

The Story of the Robinson Research Institute (1958-2013).


We are proud members of the following organisations:


Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (AAMRI), the peak body for medical research institute's across Australia.

Medical Research Commercialisation Fund (MRCF), an innovative investment collaboration investing in early stage development and commercialisation.


The Robinson Research Institute

Ground Floor, Norwich Centre 
55 King William Road 
North Adelaide SA 5006


T: +61 8 8313 1342

Find Us Online

Facebook   YouTube   Blog   Twitter

The Robinson Research Institute