Skip to content

University Governance

Founded in 1874, the University of Adelaide is a world-class tertiary education and research institution committed to delivering high quality and distinct learning, teaching and research experiences.

The University of Adelaide is governed by its Council which is established by the University of Adelaide Act 1971. Council is chaired by the Chancellor and advised by its standing committees, namely the Academic Board; Convenors' Committee; Council Selection Committee; Finance Committee; People and Culture Committee; Risk Committee; and the Special Degrees Committee.

There are also a number of Management Committees in the University advising the Vice-Chancellor and President or other senior managers.

Council Secretariat

The Council Secretariat supports the good governance and management of the University. It does this by providing executive advice and administrative support to the University's Council and its Committees, the Chancellor, the Vice-Chancellor and President, Senior Management and Chairs of Council Committees on key governance issues.

The Secretariat is also responsible for:

  • The University of Adelaide Act 1971, Statutes, By-Laws and Rules
  • Provision of advice on a variety of governance matters and strategies, and fostering collaboration between Council and University management
  • Management of governance papers and records, including information retrieval
  • Management of the Adelaide Policy Framework, including maintenance of the Policy Directory
  • Provision of advice and maintenance of the Authorities Register
  • Management of elections to Council and its standing committees
  • Execution of documents under the University Seal
  • Publication of the Annual Planning Calendar
Office of the Chancellor and Council Secretariat

The University of Adelaide
South Australia 5005


T +61 8 8313 5668
F +61 8 8313 4407