Contact Us

If you would like to enquire about the services we offer, please complete and submit an enquiry form, detailing as much information as you can about your samples and aims of research. 

Submit your enquiry

Phone: +61 8 8313 5855
Director: Angus Netting
Administrative Staff:  Stacey Williams and Terry Utting (part-time Mon-Thurs)


Helen Mayo North Building (Ground Floor & Basement), Frome Road, Adelaide
Adelaide Health & Medical Sciences (AHMS) Building (Level 6), North Terrace, Adelaide
Bio-imaging Facility, Molecular Life Sciences (MLS) Building (Ground Floor), North Terrace, Adelaide
Agriculture, Food & Wine (West) Building (WT80), Waite Campus, Urrbrae

Adelaide Microscopy Reception is staffed between the hours of 9:00am to 2:00pm Monday to Thursday and is located at NG13 on the ground floor of Helen Mayo North Building. 

Pedestrian access is via the front doors of the Helen Mayo North building.  Once you have entered the foyer, turn left, walk past the lifts and you will see Reception (NG13) directly in front of you.  If entering from the rear of the building, press the doorbell at either the ground or basement levels for access.

Parking at the North Terrace campus can be arranged for visitors from other campuses, corporate clients or service engineers by booking a departmental permit for use in (limited) reserved parking bays. It should be noted that these parking spaces are shared with other areas of the University and are not always guaranteed to be vacant upon arrival. Please phone or email for permit bookings and details.  The permit should be collected from Reception and placed on the car dashboard within ten minutes of entry into the carpark. 

Additional parking is available in the multi-level carpark (Wilson Parking) situated at Lot Fourteen - enter off Frome Road.  Numerous on-street parks can also be found along Frome Road, adjacent the Adelaide Zoo, and on Victoria Drive between the River Torrens and the University of Adelaide.  Note that there are restricted time limits with these parks.

Parking near the Adelaide Health & Medical Sciences Building is available at UPark Light Square.

Accessible parking is available at Waite Campus, enter off Gate 3 from Waite Road, Urrbrae.

Access to our laboratories is by swipe card only.  Please contact for further information.

Frome Road Google Maps reference 3JJ4+MQ

Centre contacts

Dr Agatha Labrinidis
Senior Microscopist, AHMS Facility
Advanced Light Microscopy, Live cell microscopy, Preclinical in vivo imaging, Micro-CT and Image Analysis

Dr Animesh Basak
Dualbeam Engineer
Speciality Dual Beam SEM (FIB)

Dr Ashley Slattery
TEM Senior Microscopist
Speciality High resolution transmission electron microscopy (TEM)

Dr Benjamin Wade
Senior Microscopist
Speciality Geological techniques, ICPMS, SEM, Electron Microprobe, X-Ray Analysis and Physical Science Preparations. State Representative for AMAS

Dr Nobuyuki Kawashima (Byuki)
Auto-mineralogy, TEM, UHRSEM

Mr Chris Leigh
Biological Electron Microscopist
Speciality Biological TEM, Microtomy and sample preparation for TEM, SEM and LM

Dr Fiona Whelan
Cryo-TEM Microscopist
Speciality Biological Cryo-TEM

Dr Gwen Mayo
Supervisor, Waite Facility
Speciality Plant Sample preparation techniques, Microtomy, TEM, SEM and LM

Dr Jane Sibbons
Bioscience Imaging Microscopist, MLS Facility
Advanced Light Microscopy, in vivo imaging and live cell microscopy

Mr Ken Neubauer
Speciality High Resolution SEM, X-Ray Analysis, ESEM, Sample Coating & Preparation, AFM

Dr Sarah Gilbert
Microanalysis Specialist

Dr Bryant Roberts
Data and Informatics Specialist
Data management advice and support