News: achievements

2023 Australian Awards for University Teaching

Three University of Adelaide academics - Associate Professor Michelle McArthur (Faculty of SET), Dr Walter Barbieri (Faculty of ABLE) and Dr Thomas Wanner (Faculty of ABLE) - have been named as top teachers in the 2023 Australian Awards for University Teaching. More information

[Read more about 2023 Australian Awards for University Teaching]

Dr. Sarah Scholten receives Emerging Leaders award

Dr. Sarah Scholten has received the Emerging Leader's Commendation at the 2024 Inspiring South Australian Women’s Awards. Recognised for outstanding contributions to the community through groundbreaking research at the University, her work pushes precision measurement boundaries using light. 

[Read more about Dr. Sarah Scholten receives Emerging Leaders award]

IPAS annual student presentation winners

Ten outstanding students delivered 3-minute presentations in the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing’s annual showcase. Jarred Scaffidi-Muta won the People's Choice Tanya Monro Presentation Award, and Ané Kritzinger earned the Merry Wickes Transdisciplinary Award. The competition was an opportunity for the community to support and celebrate talent and groundbreaking research.

[Read more about IPAS annual student presentation winners]

Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering

Adjunct Professor with the University of Adelaide's Institute of Sustainability, Energy and Resources (ISER), Henrik Stiesdal, along with Andrew Garrad CBE have been awarded the 2024 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering for their achievements in wind power. The prestigious award celebrates 'groundbreaking engineering innovation which is of global benefit to humanity'.

[Read more about Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering]

New artificial intelligence expert group

Professor Simon Lucey, Director of the Australian Institute for Machine Learning has been appointed to the Artificial Intelligence Expert Group which will provide advice to the Department of Industry, Science and Resources. 

[Read more about New artificial intelligence expert group]

Distinguished Alumni Awards


Eight outstanding members of the University of Adelaide’s alumni community have received Distinguished Alumni Awards in recognition of their significant contributions to their professions and communities. More information.

[Read more about Distinguished Alumni Awards]

Barbara Kidman Women’s Fellowships

Congratulations to Dr Ania Kotarba (School of Humanities), Dr Jacinta Holloway-Brown (School of Computer and Mathematical Sciences), Dr Aysegul Birand (School of Biological Sciences), Dr Bing Wang (Adelaide Medical School), Dr Alyssa Sawyer (School of Psychology), Dr Anna Szorenyi, (School of Social Sciences), Dr Eleanor Parker (Adelaide Dental School), Dr Megan Shelden (School of Agriculture, Food & Wine) and Dr Michaela Estelle Okninski (Adelaide Law School) who are recipients of the Barbara Kidman Women's Fellowships. 

[Read more about Barbara Kidman Women’s Fellowships]

Executive Dean's Staff Award for Student-Led Teaching

Beth Loveys with student

Associate Professor Beth Loveys has been awarded an Executive Dean's Staff Award for Student-Led Teaching. Beth Loveys is highly regarded for her development and leadership innovative practice. Read Associate Professor Loveys' Celebrating our Colleagues interview.

[Read more about Executive Dean's Staff Award for Student-Led Teaching]

Australian and New Zealand Optical Society (ANZOS) Awards

Members of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) have been recognised with awards from ANZOSDr Sarah Scholten is the recipient of the Geoff Opat Early Career Researcher Prize, Dr Chris Perrella was awarded the Mid-Career Prize, and the Rubidium Optical Clock Team received the John Love Award for recognise substantial achievement in the translation of optical research and/or innovation towards industrial applications and commercialisation.

[Read more about Australian and New Zealand Optical Society (ANZOS) Awards]

2023 Peter Goldacre Award

Dr Tatiana Soares da Costa

Dr Tatiana Soares da Costa, Group Leader and Future Making Fellow, Waite Research Institute was awarded the Australian Society of Plant Scientists (ASPS) 2023 Peter Goldacre Award.

[Read more about 2023 Peter Goldacre Award]

RSS News Feed