Ms Zahra Bagheri

Ms Zahra Bagheri
 Position Postgraduate Student
 Org Unit School of Mechanical Engineering
 Telephone +61 8 8313 0499
 Location Floor/Room 3 14 ,  Engineering South ,   North Terrace
  • Biography/ Background

     I am currently working on developing a target tracking model inspired by dragonfly vision for robotic applications. This is an interdisciplinary projet which requirs knowledge of insect physiology and neurobiology, computer vision, modelling and control of dynamic systems, signal processing, and robotics. My PhD supervisors are:

    Professor Benjamin Cazzolato School of Mechanical Engineering, University of Adelaide
    Dr Steven Grainger School of Mechanical Engineering, University of Adelaide
    Professor David O'Carroll  Department of Biology, Lund University
    Dr Steven Wiederman School of Medical Science, University of Adelaide
    My professional background includes:
    • April 2013-present: PhD student, School of Mechanical Engineering, University of Adelaide, Adelaide
    • May 2011-March 2013: Design Engineer, ND Co, Tehran, Iran
    • Feb 2009- Dec 2010: Teaching Assistant, Algebra and Calculus Methods, Department of Mathematics,The Australian National University, Canberra 
    • March2007- Dec2008: Design Engineer, Cara Tehran Nou Avar, Tehran, Iran

    Furthermore, I was involved in volunteering programs whilst attending the university. 

    • School of Mechanical Engineering Postgraduate Representative (2015)
    • Vice President of Multicultural Women’s Advocacy, Canberra, Australia, Dec 2010 - May 2011


  • Qualifications

    • Master of Engineering (Honours), The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia, 2010
    • Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical), Shiraz University, Shiraz, Iran, 2007
  • Awards & Achievements

  • University finalist for 3 Mintes Thesis Competition 2015, The University of Adelaide. 
  • The Best PhD Student Award, ICINCO 2014, Vienna
  • The SAHMRI 'Mind and Brain' Student Poster Award, NeuroEng 2014, Adelaide
  • College Postgraduate Honours International Awards 2009, The Australian National University