Staff honoured for excellence in teaching

Staff at the University of Adelaide have been recognised for outstanding contributions to student learning.

Staff at the University of Adelaide have been recognised for outstanding contributions to student learning.
Full Image (133.11K)

Thursday, 9 August 2007

University of Adelaide academic staff will today receive national awards for excellence in teaching and learning, recognising them as among the best educators in Australia.

Seven individuals and one team led by University of Adelaide staff will today receive the Carrick Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning, worth $10,000 each.

The citations, awarded by the Carrick Institute for Learning and Teaching in Higher Education, recognise the unique contributions to quality teaching by academic staff throughout Australia.

Recipients of a citation in 2007 from the University of Adelaide are:

Dr Peter Ashman (Chemical Engineering)
For the creative use of 'real-world', open-ended scenarios in Chemical Engineering to promote the development of not just skills in problem analysis, but the ability to perceive and to choose between multiple solutions.

Dr Colin Kestell (Mechanical Engineering)
For stimulating confident, self-directed student learning by modelling engineering practice in the classroom and laboratory while providing challenging, innovative and relevant curricula.

Associate Professor Elizabeth Koch OAM (Music)
For outstanding contribution to student learning in the field of music through the empathetic, effective mentoring of music students, particularly those studying the flute.

Associate Professor Maree O'Keefe (Paediatrics)
For innovative paediatric curriculum development including real and simulated experiential learning and consumer participation to enhance medical student learning.

Ms Lucy Potter (English)
For outstanding modelling of both effective, student-centred teaching and dynamic leadership in the discipline of English, including English as a second language (ESL).

Associate Professor Anne Tonkin (Medical Education)
For promoting and managing an integrated curriculum for medical students while enthusiastically modelling effective, student-centred teaching and learning in the classroom and the clinic.

Associate Professor Tracey Winning (Dentistry)
For sustained scholarship in the implementation of problem-based learning in the discipline of dentistry, along with student mentoring that inspires successful, self-directed learning.

Team award: team led by Associate Professor Mark Buntine (University of Adelaide) (Chemistry)
Team members: Associate Professor Scott Kable (University of Sydney), Dr Simon Barrie (University of Sydney), Mr Justin Read (University of Adelaide), Dr Ian Jamie (Macquarie University)
For the development and implementation of the ACELL project, that is improving the quality of teaching and learning in undergraduate chemistry laboratories throughout Australia.

"Quality academic staff can and do make such a huge difference to students' experience at university, which in turn results in the students' ability to succeed beyond university," says Professor Fred McDougall, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (Academic).

"The national recognition given to University of Adelaide staff today demonstrates their outstanding commitment to and achievements in student learning.

"Each one of these staff has contributed greatly to the quality of student experience. They have also had a real impact on the quality of teaching among their colleagues at the University of Adelaide and, in some cases, at other universities in Australia," Professor McDougall says.

A celebration of all the South Australian citations will be held at the University of Adelaide's National Wine Centre today (Thursday 9 August).


Contact Details

Mr David Ellis
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762