Celebrating 103 Fulbright Scholars

Friday, 23 November 2007

The University of Adelaide tonight will celebrate its 103 Fulbright Scholars when it unveils for the first time the Adelaide Fulbright Honour Board.

Fulbright Scholars, representatives of the Australian-American Fulbright Commission and University staff will attend a special celebration to witness the unveiling by University Vice-Chancellor and President Professor James McWha.

The Fulbright Program was established in Australia in 1949 and since then 103 University of Adelaide graduates and staff have been awarded Fulbright Scholarships, enabling them to study and undertake research at some of the best universities in the United States.

Professor McWha said: "The Fulbright Program is one of the largest and most prestigious educational scholarship programs in the world and it is a testament to the quality of our graduates and staff that we number 103 scholarships in less than 60 years.

"Fulbright Scholarships are awarded to people who have been singled out as outstanding scholars and many go on to make tremendous contributions in their field. The University of Adelaide is extremely proud of their achievement."

Among the earliest Fulbright Scholars was Professor Renfrey Potts, Professor of Applied Mathematics at the University of Adelaide from 1959 until his retirement in 1990. Now deceased, Professor Potts was one of Australia's most respected mathematicians who helped establish the University's strong reputation for excellence in mathematics. His Fulbright Senior Scholarship in 1954 enabled him to visit the University of Maryland.

The current last two names on the Honour Board will be the two 2007 Fulbright Scholars, music graduate Amy Ellks, undertaking studies in musical performance at New School University in New York, and commerce and laws honours graduate Rowena White, undertaking postgraduate study at Harvard University.

The Fulbright Program operates between the US and over 150 countries worldwide and was established after WWII through an initiative of US Senator J. William Fulbright to promote international goodwill through educational and cultural exchange.


Contact Details

Ms Robyn Mills
Email: robyn.mills@adelaide.edu.au
Media and Communications Officer
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 6341
Mobile: +61 410 689 084