$10 million funding win for Adelaide researchers

Full Image (161.11K)

Monday, 14 November 2011

More than $10 million in funding has been awarded to 20 researchers for studies at the University of Adelaide into areas such as artificial intelligence, environment, philosophy, mathematics, nanotechnology, psychology, politics, economics, engineering, and human and animal health.

While much of this funding will help to retain some of the top minds already working at the University of Adelaide, it will also support new researchers joining the University next year from the United States, France, Germany, and from other Australian universities.

The funding - from the Australian Research Council - was announced this morning by the Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research, the Hon. Senator Kim Carr.

The University of Adelaide was awarded eight of the prestigious Future Fellowships and 12 Discovery Early Career Researcher Awards, which aim to retain and attract top researchers in key areas of strategic need for the nation.

Future Fellowships

  • Associate Professor Andrew Bradley (currently at the University of Queensland) will join the University of Adelaide's School of Computer Science. He has been awarded $771,208 for Multi-modal virtual microscopy for quantitative diagnostic pathology;
  • Associate Professor Dusan Losic (currently at the University of South Australia) will join the University of Adelaide's School of Chemical Engineering. He has been awarded $822,856 for Carbon nanotube based chromatography;
  • Assistant Professor Francesca McInerney (currently at Northwestern University in the United States) will join the University of Adelaide's School of Earth & Environmental Sciences. She has been awarded $714,418 for Palaeoclimate reconstructions from the isotopic signatures of fossilised leaf waxes;
  • Professor Corey Bradshaw (Environment Institute, School of Earth & Environmental Sciences), $857,358 for Solving the problems of estimating extinction rates in recent and geological time;
  • Associate Professor Philip Gerrans (School of Humanities), $696,656 for The emotional construction of self representation;
  • Dr Thomas Leistner (School of Mathematical Sciences), $537,178 for Holonomy groups and special structures in pseudo-Riemannian geometry;
  • Dr Daniel Navarro (School of Psychology), $583,403 for How is information organised in the mind? Learning structured mental representations from data; and
  • Associate Professor Andrew Rosser (School of Social Sciences), $701,336 for Realising socio-economic rights: law and the politics of access to public services in Indonesia.

Discovery Early Career Researcher Awards ($375,000 each)

  • Dr Robert Yuncken (currently with Universite Blaise Pascal, Clermont-Ferrand II, France), joining the University of Adelaide's School of Mathematical Sciences, Deformation quantisation and index theory for semi-simple groups;
  • Dr Nina Schwensow (currently with the Leibniz Institute for Zoo and Wildlife Research, Germany), joining the University of Adelaide's School of Earth & Environmental Sciences, Molecular genetic adaptive processes in natural co-evolution between rabbits and the rabbit haemorrhagic disease virus;
  • Dr Markus Brueckner (School of Economics), The effects of international commodity price shocks on state fragility;
  • Dr Kylie Dunning (Robinson Institute, School of Paediatrics & Reproductive Health), Biomimetic systems for species preservation and fertility restoration</i>;
  • Dr Pedram Hekmati (School of Mathematical Sciences), Group actions and K-theory: a new direction;
  • Associate Professor Natalie Keirstead (School of Animal & Veterinary Sciences), Characterisation of collagenous lectins and their roles in ovine infectious diseases;
  • Dr Caroline Laurence (School of Population Health & Clinical Practice), Planning the primary health care workforces: developing and implementing a needs-based approach;
  • Dr Tanya Little (School of Medicine), Fat sensing in the oral cavity and gastrointestinal tract: role in the regulation of gastrointestinal function and energy intake in health and obesity;
  • Dr Paul Medwell (School of Mechanical Engineering), Resolving flame stabilisation mechanisms in the transition to moderate of intense low oxygen dilution (MILD) combustion;
  • Dr Amy Perfors (School of Psychology), What shapes the structure of language? An experimental and computational investigation;
  • Dr Gretel Png (School of Electrical & Electronic Engineering), Terahertz sensing of proteins associated with Alzheimer's disease;
  • Dr Qinfeng Shi (School of Computer Science), Compressive sensing based probabilistic graphical models (PGM).

    For more information about research at the University of Adelaide, go to: www.adelaide.edu.au/research


Contact Details

Mr David Ellis
Email: david.ellis@adelaide.edu.au
Website: http://www.adelaide.edu.au/news/
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762