Australian Awards for University Teaching

The University of Adelaide supports Universities Australia in the promotion and participation of the annual Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT).

The AAUT were established in 1997 by the Australian Government to celebrate and reward excellence in university teaching. 

AAUT recognise the impact that educators have on the learning and teaching experiences and outcomes of university students. They celebrate and reward teaching and programs that support students and enhance learning. They also promote excellence in learning and teaching in all aspects of higher education.

Recipients contribute to systemic change in learning and teaching through the ongoing sharing and dissemination of knowledge. There are three award types promoting and recognising excellence in learning and teaching which are:

  • Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning (Citations)
  • Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning (Program Awards)
  • Awards for Teaching Excellence (Teaching Awards)
  • Award for Australian University Teacher of the Year

How can I apply?

Submissions for University of Adelaide Staff are typically by invitation only however, should you be interested in writing a submission please contact Emily Kemp, Teaching Excellence Support Officer, for more information.

Resources for AAUT applicants

Former recipients

Citation for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning:

  • 2020

    Professor Kerry Wilkinson
    For creative digital technologies that support independent learning, overcome discipline-specific learning and teaching challenges, and inspire wine making/ wine business students to engage with industry practice.

    Team - Principles of Public Law (PPL)

    For enlivening first-year law students’ spirit of discovery in a large compulsory course through an authentic inquiry-based learning experience enabled by flipped classroom pedagogy.

  • 2019

    Associate Professor Lyndsey Collins-Praino
    For effective use of gamification to teach neuroscience, leading to a deeper understanding of course material and richer student engagement.


  • 2018

    Dr Peter Hill
    For sustained commitment, innovation and leadership in the education of veterinary dermatology and immunology at local, national and international levels.

    Dr Nicolene Lottering
    For engaging digital learners through a technology-enhanced learning framework to improve deep learning and student engagement in second year anatomy students. For engaging digital learners through a technology-enhanced learning framework to improve deep learning and student engagement in second year anatomy students.

  • 2017

    The BEST Team

    • Associate Professor Catherine Snelling  (Current Titleholder with the University of Adelaide)
    • Associate Professor Sophie Karanicolas 

    For the BEST approach: enhancing learning and teaching through a sustained colleague development program.

    Professor Michael Liebelt
    For leadership and innovation in the development of curricula and pathways in professional engineering education, designed to improve flexibility and choice for students.

  • 2016

    Foundations of Chemistry Team

    For restructuring the first year chemistry pathway to provide students with limited chemistry knowledge a supportive learning environment that encourages engagement and academic excellence.

    Associate Professor Dimitra Lekkas
     For leading cultural change in approaches to the dental clinical student learning environment, through the provision of outstanding support of sessional staff.

    Professor Natalie Edwards
    For the development of a new curriculum built around an e-learning environment, which has significantly increased student success and retention in first-year French