Outstanding university alumni recognised with awards

Monday, 3 June 2019

DAASix outstanding University of Adelaide graduates have been recognised with awards for their significant impact on their communities and professions on the local and world stage.

They include leaders in higher education, urban planning, medicine, medical research and community and public service – and together they have made a difference to the lives of people throughout Australia and overseas.

Now in its 27th year, the University of Adelaide’s Distinguished Alumni Awards recognise alumni who have excelled in their fields and, through their outstanding accomplishments, have improved the lives of others.

The 2019 Distinguished Alumni Awards are in three categories: the Vice-Chancellor's Alumni Award for outstanding and sustained contributions; the Tirkapena Alumni Award for positive outcomes for Indigenous communities; the James McWha Rising Star Award for those who are making a significant contribution as emerging leaders.

Vice-Chancellor's Alumni Award 2019 winners

Emeritus Professor Denise Bradley, AC, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of South Australia and author of the Bradley Report following her review of higher education, is an esteemed advocate for equity in education. Her contributions to higher education policy have changed the face of the Australian tertiary sector.

Dr Michael Llewellyn-Smith, AM, KStJ, JP, is an architect, town planner and city manager who has helped to shape cities in Australia and overseas. He also made a signficant contribution to the University of Adelaide alumni community during his time as Chair of the Alumni Association.

Dr James Muecke, AM, is an eye surgeon who has made it his life's work to fight childhood blindness in low-income countries. Dr Muecke's not-for-profit organisation Sight For All has made significant steps towards eliminating blindness in Asia.

Tirkapena Alumni Award 2019 winner

Dr Claudia Paul is a Wiradjuri woman from Broken Hill who hopes to establish a surgical outreach service for rural and remote areas. She was Australia’s third Indigenous Rhodes Scholar.

James McWha Rising Star Award 2019 winners

Associate Professor Kristin Carson-Chahhoud aims to close the gap between clinical research trials and real-world patient care, with a focus on one of the key modifiable health risk factors: tobacco avoidance. She is working to improve the care of individual patients as well as communities.

Ms Hannah Wandel is the founder of not-for-profit organisation Country to Canberra, which runs programs that provide education, leadership and mentorship opportunities for young women in regional and remote Australia. To date, her organisation has helped 3,500 girls from rural and remote communities nationally.

Pictured above: Dr Paul, Ms Wandel, Dr Muecke, Dr Llewellyn-Smith, Associate Professor Carson-Chahhoud.


Contact Details

Mr David Ellis
Email: david.ellis@adelaide.edu.au
Website: https://www.adelaide.edu.au/newsroom/
Deputy Director, Media and Corporate Relations
External Relations
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 5414
Mobile: +61 (0)421 612 762