Adelaide research impact brings national awards

Professor Corey Bradshaw

Professor Corey Bradshaw
Full Image (98.17K)

Professor Prash Sanders

Professor Prash Sanders
Full Image (155.88K)

Wednesday, 3 March 2010

University of Adelaide researchers have won two of the five categories in the inaugural Scopus Young Researcher of the Year Awards, to be presented tonight by Senator Kim Carr, Federal Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research.

Professor Corey Bradshaw won the Life Sciences and Biological Sciences category and Professor Prash Sanders won the Medicine and Medical Sciences category of the awards.

Another two University of Adelaide researchers, Professor Tanya Monro and Associate Professor Frank Grützner, were also finalists in the awards which aim to recognise and encourage Australia's best researchers aged 40 and under, judged by their research output, the impact of their research and other contributions.

Professor Corey Bradshaw is Director of Ecological Modelling at the University's Environment Institute and holds a joint position with the South Australian Research and Development Institute (SARDI). He is a conservation biologist who uses mathematical modelling to understand the complex interactions between plant and animal species within an ecosystem.

His research helps solve complex conservation problems including the management of pest species, reducing extinction risk and helping preserve biodiversity.

Professor Bradshaw's significant conservation achievements include successful changes to fishing practice to help conserve endangered grey nurse sharks following his findings on threats to the species; and work detailing the link between loss of natural forest cover and increased flood risk which has been used in key international reports aimed at helping governments shape conservation policy.

Professor Bradshaw has published 140 scientific papers and book chapters since completing his PhD just 10 years ago, is Senior Editor of the journal Conservation Letters, and established the world's first major blog site on conservation research,

He has won a variety of awards and fellowships including the Royal Society of SA's 2009 HG Andrewartha Medal for outstanding science and the South Australian Young Tall Poppy Science award in 2008.

Professor Prash Sanders, Knapman-National Heart Foundation Chair of Cardiology Research at the University of Adelaide, is an internationally recognised heart specialist and Clinical Director of Cardiac Electrophysiology at the Royal Adelaide Hospital (RAH).

He graduated from the University of Adelaide with an MBBS (Honours) in 1994 and was just 34 when he returned to Adelaide in 2005 to take up his present positions.

Professor Sanders established South Australia's first dedicated clinical and experimental electrophysiology laboratories and group, attracting clinicians and researchers from around the world and recognised as a leading training centre for electrophysiologists.

Professor Sanders and team are at the international forefront in their research on the understanding and treatment of rhythm disturbances affecting the heart, particularly atrial fibrillation which affects 2% of adults. Up to 300 patients every year at the RAH benefit from his revolutionary new treatments for atrial fibrillation.

He has published 160 papers in his field, has won numerous awards, and takes an active role in the development of health care services in the developing world.

Professor Tanya Monro is a finalist in the Physical Sciences category. She has published over 300 papers in journals and refereed conference proceedings, and won a number of prestigious awards, including the 2008 Prime Minister's Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year as well as the inaugural 2009 Emerging Leader in Science prize awarded by The Australian.

She is an Australian Research Council Federation Fellow and the inaugural Director of the University's Institute for Photonics & Advanced Sensing (IPAS). IPAS is a unique research institute with a transdisciplinary research agenda, working at the boundaries of physics, chemistry and biology to create knowledge and new technologies, and solve problems for health, the environment, defence, food and wine.

Associate Professor Frank Grützner is a finalist in the Life Sciences and Biological Sciences category. He is an Australian Research Council Research Fellow and group leader in the School of Molecular and Biomedical Science. His recent work on platypus sex chromosomes and the platypus genome had major impact on our understanding of the evolution of the mammalian genome.

His work has been recognised by several awards including the 2005 Eppendorf Medal for the Young Australian Investigator and the 2007 Tall Poppy Science Award.

The Scopus Young Researcher of the Year Awards have been introduced this year by Universities Australia and Elsevier and sponsored by The Australian. They will be awarded at the Universities Australia Conference Gala Dinner.


Contact Details

Media Team
The University of Adelaide
Business: +61 8 8313 0814