Skip to content

Legal Advice and Support

The Legal and Risk branch is responsible for the provision of legal services to the University.

We advise University staff on a range of legal issues that arise from the University's diverse learning, teaching and research endeavours - from the very simple to the very complex.

We aim to serve the best interests of the University but are also required to comply with the standards of conduct required by the legal profession. We are focussed on positive, pragmatic outcomes.

What We Do

The Legal team provides advice, information and support for:

  • General legal and compliance matters
  • Contract planning, drafting, review and negotiation
  • Privacy matters
  • Trust and Bequest Administration
  • Dispute resolution and management
  • Engagement of external professionals
  • Representation in tribunals and court
  • Training and Education
  • Investigations by Ombudsman, Human Rights Commissioner or other regulatory bodies
  • Research related matters including grants, partnerships, research contracts, collaborations, consultancies and related documents such as Confidentiality Agreements and Material Transfer Agreements.

Personal Legal Advice

We are the University's lawyers and advisors and we are not able to provide advice to staff and students on personal matters. The Adelaide University Union (AUU) can assist students seeking legal advice. Students should contact the AUU by phone 08 8313 5401 or via email auu@adelaide.edu.au for more information.

For More Information

Céline McInerney
General Counsel and Director, Legal and Risk

celine.mcinerney@adelaide.edu.au
08 8313 5033

Scott Long
Associate Director, Legal Services
scott.long@adelaide.edu.au
08 8313 8113

Georgia Sherry
Special Legal Counsel and Team
Leader - Research Legal Services
georgia.sherry@adelaide.edu.au
08 8313 6099

Kim Evans
Senior Legal Counsel
kim.evans@adelaide.edu.au
08 8313 6103

Lisa Twigden
Legal Counsel (Research)
lisa.twigden@adelaide.edu.au
08 8313 6357

Laura Giaretto
Senior Legal Counsel
laura.giaretto@adelaide.edu.au
08 8313 7669

Debra Hassen
Legal Counsel (Research)
debra.hassen@adelaide.edu.au
08 8313 7655

Richard Duddy
Legal Counsel
richard.duddy@adelaide.edu.au
08 8313 0085

Ben McKay
Legal Counsel
ben.mckay@adelaide.edu.au
08 8313 0065

 

Need Help?

Email helpdesklegal@adelaide.edu.au and we will respond within 24 hours.
Rm G07 Mitchell Building, North Terrace, Adelaide  SA  5005

Contact us
Email Us Feedback Form   Call us +61 8 8313 4539
North Terrace Detail