Many of the University's endowed scholarships and prizes have been established by gifts and donations in memory of former staff and graduates of the University.

These endowments hold in perpetuity the memory of those who came before us, those who gave so much to the University and formed many warm friendships with students and staff.


Constance Margaret Eardley Memorial Fund

In 1980, friends, colleagues and former students in the Department of Botany and the Adelaide University Graduates’ Union, paid to the University $4,000 to establish a fund in memory of the late Constance Margaret Eardley, a member of the academic staff of the Department of Botany 1933-71. Read more...

Chapman Memorial Scholarship

In 1948, £1,400 (approx) was donated to the University to establish a scholarship in memory of James Chapman and of his sons Stirling and Rodney Chapman. Read more...

Archibald Grenfell Price Prize in Geography

Established in 1957 by a donation of £110 from St Mark's College Club in memory of Sir Archibald Grenfell Price, Master of the College from its foundation in 1925 until his retirement in January 1957.  Read more...

John Robert Mitchell Violin Prize

In 1979, the Executor of an anonymous deceased donor, gave $300 to the University.  According to the Will of the donor, the capital was to be invested and the income used to support an annual prize of books or music to the person adjuged by the Director of the Elder Conservatorium of Music as the most outstanding senior violin student.  Read more...


Natalia Davies Prize

In 1951, Miss Amylis I Laffer gave £400 to the University to perpetuate the memory of Miss Natalia Davies, who was for more than twenty years a teacher of outstanding merit in the Education Department of South Australia.  Read more...

For more information

Jackie Morris
Trusts Officer
08 8313 5804