Skip to content


SAGE logo

The University of Adelaide is participating in the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) Athena SWAN pilot Cohort 3.

This is a national program promoting gender equity and gender diversity in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM), run by the Australian Academy of Science in partnership with the Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE).

  • Athena SWAN at Adelaide

    We will be joining 40 participating institutions, including 30 Universities, six Research Institutes and four Publicly Funded Research Agencies. The two year accreditation process solidifies our commitment to the Athena SWAN Charter’s principles, which aim to advance gender equality in academia, address unequal gender representation across academic disciplines, and remove the obstacles faced by women, in particular, at major points of career development and progression.

  • Athena SWAN Principles

    The ten principles of the Athena SWAN Charter are as follows:

    1. We acknowledge that academia cannot reach its full potential unless it can benefit from the talents of all.
    2. We commit to advancing gender equality in academia, in particular addressing the loss of women across the career pipeline and the absence of women from senior academic, professional and support roles.
    3. We commit to addressing unequal gender representation across academic disciplines and professional and support functions. In this we recognise disciplinary differences including:
      • the particularly high loss rate of women in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM).
    4. We commit to tackling the gender pay gap.
    5. We commit to removing the obstacles faced by women, in particular, at major points of career development and progression including the transition from PhD into a sustainable academic career.
    6. We commit to addressing the negative consequences of using short-term contracts for the retention and progression of staff in academia, particularly women.
    7. We commit to tackling the discriminatory treatment often experienced by transgender people.
    8. We acknowledge that advancing gender equality demands commitment and action from all levels of the organisation and in particular active leadership from those in senior roles.
    9. We commit to making and mainstreaming sustainable structural and cultural changes to advance gender equality, recognising that initiatives and actions that support individuals alone will not sufficiently advance equality.
    10. All individuals have identities shaped by several different factors. We commit to considering the intersection of gender and other factors wherever possible.
  • Athena SWAN Launch

    On the 6th November the University hosted a one-day event to launch our participation in the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) Athena SWAN pilot accreditation process. We had the pleasure of a visit by Dr Wafa El-Adhami, Executive Director, and Telitha Schroedl, Engagement & Secretariat Officer, from SAGE to help launch the program through informative discussions with key contributors, including members of the Vice-Chancellor’s Executive team.

  • Self-Assessment Team

    As part of the requirement of the SAGE pilot, a Self-Assessment Team will be established. Eileen Scott (Deputy Head of the School of Agriculture, Food and Wine) has been nominated to convene the Team below.

    View the Terms of Reference.

    Team Member Position Divison/Faculty Extn.
    Claude Silvestri HR Systems and Reporting Analyst Human Resources 32019
    Claudia Szabo Senior Lecturer Computer Science 36744
    Clinton Kempster Lecturer Dentistry 38779
    Dan (Shirley) Qu HR Systems and Reporting Analyst Human Resources 35945
    Deborah Turnbull Professor Psychology 31229
    Eileen Scott Professor and SAT Chair Agriculture, Food and Wine 37266
    Elysia Ryan Director, HR Human Resources 34492
    Giang Nguyen Senior Lecturer Mathematics 35498
    Kathryn Lawrence Gender Equity Advisor Human Resources 35802
    Michael Liebelt Professor Electronic and Eletricial Engineering and Sciences 35650
    Sandra Elias HR Project Officer (SAGE) Human Resources 34943
    Simon Clifton HR Manager Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences  39935

    Stuart Matthews School Manager Agriculture, Food and Wine 37455
    Victoria Pederick Research Associate Biological Sciences 34671

Contact HR Service Centre

For all enquiries please contact the Human Resources Service Centre.

FAQ Online Enquiries Feedback Call us +61 8 831 31111
Sandstone building at the University of Adelaide's North Terrace Campus